+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Cortina MKII GT?

Ride
    1970 Morris Cooper S

Question Cortina MKII GT?

G'day blokes,

I am a newbie here, so please bear with me whilst I get my thoughts in order.

I have had a desire for some time now, to try and relive a slice of my past, and purchase another Cortina MkII GT, for the purpose of restoration.

I owned my original 1970 model back in 1972/4 and I really didn't want to let her go, but as I needed my truck for my job, I just couldn't afford to register and run two vehicles at that time. If I had have known then what I now know, I would have taken her off the road, and found a nice safe shed to lock her into, until I was ready to run her again. The trouble with hindsight however, is that it only comes later, and one cannot predict the future.

I have a couple of old pix somewhere, and I will post them as soon as I locate them....

So, a couple of simple questions to all you Corgi-owners out there:

How much would I be looking at to purchase another GT?

What is the supply of parts like for these things out there these days?

Thanks to all.

Ride
    TC XL 6+ TD GS 6

Default Re: Cortina MKII GT?

Hello,

Welcome to the cortina central forums it's always good to see new members on here. Sounds like you owned a nice mk2 gt cortina back in the early 70's and like most of us know or have learned the hard way 'if only we had kepted our cars' if only but that's life, still it would be nice to see some pictures of your old mk2 if that's possible.

On your .i.d it shows your location as Melbourne, you do have a few options for parts and advice depending where your located, I'm in the east so the best place for me is Mike at Yesterford they carry most parts but cant always supply panels, sometimes eBay and eBay uk is a good help but can be pricey with postage. Another option might be to contact the Mk1 Cortina club of Vic, they also have Mk2 owners so I believe I'm not a member but have met some of them on this forum.