+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Fg xr6t rust

Ride
    fg xr6T

Exclamation Fg xr6t rust

G'day, I am a newbie here on the forum. I need some help with a rust problem. I have a 2009 white xr6t sedan which has obvious rust staining around several underbonnet seams. I have found a few other threads where people say thay have had an issue and raised with ford, but no one seems to have posted what the final fix was from ford if any.
    Areas affected are: around the bonnet hinge points in the body, around the seams towards the rear of the engine bay, lower cross members etc etc. It is relatively minor at the moment but it get's me thinking that rust between seams showing at 18 months is concern. Does anyone know what action ford is likely to take, how long will I get stuffed around in the process? I went to a dealer and had it inspected last week and they said "it shouldn't be like that" and "this is the first one we have seen like this", they took photos and sent to ford to determine what will be done to fix, but they were fairly non commital, this was a major melboune dealer with Panel shop on site.
    After going their, on my way home I went to a couple of other yards and had a look at the cars on the lot and can see the start of similar issues, though not as bad, particularly in the white cars in the FG series. I don't want to go crazy and start posting pics and links from every article relating to the FG falcon I can find just yet and am trying to stay calm pending what ford do. But very keen to find out from anyone with similar experience what repairs if any were unedratken by ford.
    Looking forward to any feedback - Thanks in advance.

Ride
    BA wagon, Camry S/W

Default Re: Fg xr6t rust

thanks for the warning.

This is the sort of thing where Ford need to step right up with an immediate 'can-do' mentality rather than the duck-shove. We await their response to you..